No matter what I threw at Gokuraku on a warm, wet  night, I just couldn’t hit the spot.  Probably because I’d belted myself stupid three days earlier at Kenkou Lando.  I had myself submerged in the 18.6 degree plunge pool for over a minute, several times, but alas, I couldn’t get high.

It was all very much like this.

Gokuraku in Tama has all the classics.  A tower sauna with a big fuck off tv and some very snuggly floor mats.  A long plunge pool, a 41 degree rotenburo, another undercover rotenburo with another big fuck off tv in it, a variety of spa jets…  There was also a 40 degree mist sauna (the proper name eludes me) which smelt overwhelmingly like rosemary.  Foccacia yeah.  Heck, there was even an onsite barber.

But alas, I did not leave a happy man.  Goddamn serotonin.

I’ll tell you one thing though- I’ll probably be back soon, as it’s right next to my summer office.  And, unlike most onsens/sentos, they can sure as shit take some pretty pictures.

 

gotaraku  gotaraku3  gotaraku5gotaraku4

 

 

How succuluent I wonder:

THE SCOREBOARD OF SENTO SUCCULENCE

Features: Tower sauna, mist sauna avec rosemary, 3 rotenburos, very shallow neyu, mizuburo, 3 kinds of jet spa, electric bath, 2 more ofuros
Bath Heat/10 8 (hottest at just over 41)
Sauna heat/10 9 (90 degrees, gas)
Spatial aesthetic/5 3
Quality of Chit chat/5 0
Variety of bath types/10 8
Quality of rotenburo /10
Mizuburo/10 9 (great planker) 
Lighting /10 7
Cost to value /5 4
Accessibility /5
Little extras /10 6
Overall feeling /10 6
OVERALL PROXIMITY TO BOILING POINT/100 72

If you ever find me dead at the bottom of a plunge pool, know that I died a happy man.